Frequently Asked Questions

CountriesAreas included in the HKH region
AfghanistanAll provinces except the provinces of Kandahar, Helmand, Nimroz, Farah, and Herat.
BangladeshChittagong Hill Tracts
BhutanEntire territory
ChinaParts of the provinces of Yunnan (Diqing, Nujiang, and Dali prefectures), Sichuan (Ganzi, Aba, and Liangshan prefectures), and Gansu (Gannan, Wuwei and Zhangye prefectures); Xinjiang Autonomous Region (Kashigar, Kezilesu, Hetian, and Altai prefectures); Tibet Autonomous Region (entire territory); and Qinghai province (entire territory)
IndiaEntire territory of 11 mountain states (Assam, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Jammu and Kashmir (Indian administered area), Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh), and Darjeeling district of West Bengal state
MyanmarChin, Shan, Rakhine, and Kachin states
NepalEntire territory
PakistanKhyber Pakhtunkhwa province, 24 districts (out of 32) of Balochistan province (excluded districts are Kachhi, Gwadar, Jafarabad, Jhal Magsi, Lasbela, and Sohbatpur), Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK), Gilgit-Baltistan. and Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA)
Sustainable development (SD) is defined in many different ways, but the most cited definition is from Our Common Future, also referred to as the Brundtland Report: "Sustainable development is development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs." SD has three components: economic, social/human, and environmental.
Resilience is the ability of communities and ecosystems to be prepared for shocks, recover from shocks, and “bounce forward” to emerge stronger than they were before. To build community resilience means to build a community’s capacity to do just that.